Research Clusters Renewed in 2024

Congratulations to Dr. Sara Shneiderman and Dr. Daisy Rosenblum, whose Research Excellence Clusters have been renewed in 2024.

The UBC Disaster Resilience Research Network
Cluster Co-leads: Carlos Molina Hutt Sara Shneiderman

Building transdisciplinary connections and identify shared research goals to inform disaster risk reduction policy and decision making at community and governance levels. Advancing multi-hazard assessment and mitigation in support of an inclusive and equitable development of just disaster risk management, with a focus on BC informed by international perspectives.

Relational Technologies: Land, Sovereignty, and Language in Community-Led Immersive Storytelling
Cluster Co-Leads: Daisy Rosenblum & David Gaertner

Bringing together collaborative interdisciplinary teams to support community-led cultural survivance through immersive and interactive storytelling. Partnerships among community-based research leads, technical experts at and beyond UBC, and campus venues for knowledge exchange focus on emergent digital tools and technologies for mapping, gaming, and curating stories.


Research Excellence Clusters are interdisciplinary networks of researchers addressing societal and cultural problems, and working together to solve challenges that transcend traditional boundaries associated with departments, institutions, and funding agencies. Funding is awarded through Grants for Catalyzing Research Clusters (GCRC) competitions.